top of page


Board of Governors

The Board of Governors sets the strategic priorities of the Society and has fiduciary responsibility for its affairs.  The Board is composed of the following people: 

  • Sarah N. Johnson, PhD* --Chair of the Board

  • Thomas A. Soule - Treasurer & Secretary

  • Martin R. Johnson* - Board Member

      *indicates a Scout descendant


The Society was formed on November 18, 2019 as a nonstock (nonprofit) corporation under the provisions of Chapter 10 of Title 13.1 of the Code of the Commonwealth of Virginia (Virginia Nonstock Corporation Act).

Nonprofit Status

On December 13, 2019, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) determined that the Society qualifies as a public charity under the provisions of section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.  Therefore, contributions made to the Society are tax-deductible according to section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code.

Key Organization Documents
bottom of page